The Bikes of The World Champions

The Bikes of The World Champions

Posted by Alder Martz on 4th Oct 2018

Peter Sagan's reign in the World Champions stripes came to an end last Sunday when he was unceremoniously dropped from the front group with 93 kilometers left to race in the mountainous circuit around Innsbruck. His three year stranglehold on the rainbow bands has been second to none - not even the great Eddy Merckx was able to pull off such a stunt! 

In celebration of the World Championships, we decided to go back in time and have a look at the last 15 bikes that have won the World Championships, as well as a special 16th. 

In 2003, Igor Astarloa piloted his team Saeco Cannondale to the top step in Hamilton, Canada. 

2004 was the 3rd World Championship victory for the Spainard Oscar Friere on a Colnago C50 in Verona. Interestingly enough, Friere's first World Championship win was also in Verona 5 years previously. 

2005 saw a young Tom Boonen sprint to the win out of a small group aboard his Time VXR in Madrid.

In 2006, Boonen's teammate, Paolo Bettini kept the Time VXR win streak alive by winning in Salzburg.

Bettini repeated his trick again in 2007 in Stuttgart, this time on a Specialized. 

In 2008 Allessandro Ballan, an Italian, won in Italy on an Italian bike with Italian components. 

Cadel Evans won Australia's first and only men's road race title in 2009 in his European hometown of Mendrisio aboard a custom painted Canyon. 

The World Championships were held in Australia for the first time in 2010 where Thor Hushovd roared to victory on a Cervelo S3.

2011 saw Mark Cavendish sprint to victory on his Specialized S-works McLaren after an impressive display of controlling a race by team GB in Copenhagen. 

When the 2012 World's course was revealed, everyone said it was a course tailored for Philippe Gilbert. The Belgian did not disappoint and piloted his BMC Team SLR01 to the top step in Valkenburg.

2013 was a 7 hour, rainy, hilly course in and around Florence. Rui Costa conquered a trio of Spainards on his Movistar Pinarello 65.1 to take the win. 

In 2014 Michael Kwiatkowski kissed the competition goodbye in 2014 in the last lap around Ponferrada, Spain on his OPQS Specialized S-Works. 

The reign of Sagan began in 2015 in Richmond. It was the first of three World Championship wins for Peter Sagan and the second of four for Specialized.

Finally, after 6 trips to the podium without a win, it was lucky number 7 for Valverde. He showed strength, nerves of steel, tactical prowess, and a strong sprint to claim his first win aboard a Canyon CF SLX in Innsbruck. 

You might have noticed that, up until 2018, no one had won a World Championship using disc brakes. That ended when the Dutchwoman Anna van der Breggen piloted her Specialized S-Works tarmac Disc to a solo victory, more than 3 minutes ahead of second place!